Hey, Big Spender!

I’m not really a big spender. I’ve been called a “cheap bastard” (lovingly) and am not ashamed to say I’m quite thrifty. I’m actually quite proud. There just aren’t many things that I care to spend my money on, but, when I do, I have coupons, promotional codes, or a specific deal… except when it comes to most of my running-related expenses.

In an effort to be even more critical of my spending after I bought my Honda Fit in 2010 (a 2009 base model, bought in September when the dealerships are desperate to clear out the older cars, of course), I decided to track the amount of money I would spend on race entry fees and membership renewals in 2011.

32 races, one RVRR renewal (which, by the way, is cheaper than the average race fee), and one USATF renewal.

Total damage: $864.50

That number didn’t surprise me. In fact, I’m amazed it wasn’t more. 2011 was a busy year! If I had counted gear, travel, accommodations, and post-race beers, I’d probably have had a heart attack. (I’m looking at you, plane tickets to Switzerland! You too, Lululemon Athletica!)

The total hasn’t caused me to change the number of races I run each year, but I no longer wonder, “Where did all my money go?” when I look at my bank account. I may be cheap, but the money I spend on running is a no-brainer. It’s what I spend all of my non-work time and energy doing, planning for, or thinking about… so, why not?

Have you ever tracked your race fees, or other hobby-related expenditures?

5 thoughts on “Hey, Big Spender!

  1. A timely title to your blog entry, as Edvard Munch’s “The Scream” just sold at auction last night for 119.9 million dollars (!!!!)…you didn’t buy it, did you? Stick to spending your $$$ on running. It’s money well-spent, and better for your health and sanity than a scary picture!

  2. I have a solid idea of how much I’ve spent each year, it sickens me to think about it. I’ve cut back this year a lot. Road Race fees are just too much, iover past ten years they seem to have risen about 30-40% on average. Marathons that were $90 are now $110, 5k’s that were $15 (day of race) are now $25. It totally kills my motivation to run most of them now. On the flip side, it motivates me to train better and have a better performance at the select races I will run.

  3. Ouch. Well, we should look into some kind of energy creation system so that while we run we charge our cell-phones or power our lights for the evening… don’t they have that already? Would be nice to ditch the commute to work too… but I don’t think that it would be safe to run down rt. 22 and enter work all sweaty. Don’t worry, you’ll start earning prize money soon and that will take off some of the edge 🙂

  4. I’ve always wanted to track this!! I want to know entry fees, running shoes, travel costs…all things running. It would probably be a number that I don’t want to see! We pay for the experience though, right?! The 26.2 mile in 90 degree heat experience 😉 Great post!!

  5. Pingback: No one on the corner have schwag like us. « Run like a girl

Leave a Reply

