I have a stalker.

Don’t worry, it’s just my friend Kelly!

Kelly sent this to me last night and it put a huge smile on my face. The tropical weather predicted for Marathon Monday should bring out record numbers of race supporters and cheer squads, but those who cannot attend are able to stalk track runners online or through texts sent automatically when the poor souls cross the 10k, half-marathon, 30k, and finish mats. It’s quite impressive, though texts are usually delayed due to the large numbers of stalkers excited fans receiving updates, and it’s so motivating to runners knowing their friends and family are following and rooting from them.

Almost all marathons and half-marathons have athlete tracking available. Next time a friend or coworker tells you they’re running, click over to the race site and let them know you’ll be thinking of them that day! It’s a simple way to show support and interest, and it goes a long way (pun intended).

Oh, and be sure to tell them how to run a marathon; they’ll really appreciate the advice 🙂

Published by

6 responses to “I have a stalker.”

  1. Haha, can they track the temperature at each mile as well? I’m so excited!

  2. I definitely missed that lovely pool–that was at mile 27, right??

  3. Yeah, instead of warning us to defer, give up, or to slow down, they should have given us a friggin’ heads-up about the pool!! (http://www.boston.com/sports/marathon/gallery/2012/boston_marathon_heartbreak_hill?pg=9)

  4. Right?? I don’t care if they filled it with snakes- if there was cool water in it, I would have sat in it, shoes out. I can’t believe I missed it.

  5. […] of perfunctory bling. Every medal tells a story, but these babies could write a novel.(Thanks to Kelly for my beautiful and incredibly appropriate medal […]

  6. that water looks quite unsanitary!

Leave a comment